Super Rugby's Week one Round Up!

This is Super Rugby’s Week one Round up on  Investec Super Rugby 2016 and one thing has quickly become clear…

New Zealand Conference

The Blues beat the Highlanders 33-31 in a thrilling opener in Auckland. Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.32.11

The Chiefs beat the Crusaders 27-21.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.31.39

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.25.55

South Africa Conference 1

The Stormers beat the Bulls 33-9.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.37.24

The Sunwolves hosted the Lions in Tokyo and lost 13-26.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.31.54

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.26.08

South Africa Conference 2

The Jaguares won 34-33 win over the Cheetahs.  Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.32.49

The Kings, lost 43-8 by the Sharks.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.31.02

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.26.13

Australian Conference

The Brumbies and the Waratahs are on top of the leaderboard in Australia.

The Brumbies beat the Hurricanes 52-10 in Canberra.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.32.22

The derby game between the Australian States of New South Whales and Queensland against the Waratahs, with 30-10 win over the reds.

This is Waratahs  fifth straight win over the Reds,

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.31.28

The Melbourne Rebels won the Perth’s Force 25-19.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.31.13

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.26.01

Current Standings

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 13.26.19

Come back for more Super Rugby Updates every week on Eden’s Bed and Breakfast Blog!


Source Nzherald

2016 Super Rugby Season - New Zealand

The 2016 Super Rugby season  will be marking the 21st season of Super Rugby and will be the first season featuring an expanded 18-team format.  This 2016 season will also include for the first time, Teams outside the usual Australia , New Zealand, and South Africa adding teams from Argentina and Japan.

The round-robin games will take place every weekend from 26 February to 16 July 2016 (with a break for international matches during June), followed by the finals series at the end of July and culminating in the final on 6 August.


The 18 teams will be grouped geographically, with two regional groups, each consisting of two conferences: the Australasian Group, with five teams in the Australian Conference and five teams in the New Zealand Conference and the South African Group, with six South African teams, one Argentinean team and one Japanese team split into a four-team Africa 1 Conference and a four-team Africa 2 Conference.

The Group Stages will be consisting of 17 rounds of matches, where each team will play 15 matches and have two rounds of byes for a total of 135 matches.

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 14.29.16

Teams will play six intra-conference matches in the four-team African Conferences, with each team playing other three teams in their conference home and away.  The 5 team Australasian Conferences will play two teams home and away and will also play once again the other two teams (one at home and one away).

The other nine matches will be a single round of matches against each team in the other conference in their group, as well as against each team from one of the conferences in the other group.

In 2016, the teams in Africa 1 will play the teams in the Australian Conference, while the teams in Africa 2 will play the teams in the New Zealand Conference.

The top team in each of the four conferences will automatically qualify to the Quarter Finals. The next top three teams in the Australasian Group and the next top team in the South African group will also qualify to the Quarter Finals as wildcards. The conference winners will be seeded #1 to #4 for the Quarter Finals, in order of log points gained during the group stages, while the wildcards will be seeded as #5 to #8 in order of log points gained during the group stages.

In the Quarter Finals, the conference winners will host the first round of the finals, with the highest-seeded conference winner hosting the fourth-seeded wildcard entry, the second-seeded conference winner hosting the third-seeded wildcard entry, the third-seeded conference winner hosting the second-seeded wildcard entry and the fourth-seeded conference winner hosting the top-seed wildcard entry.

The Quarter Final winners will progress to the Semi-Finals, where the highest seed to reach the Semi-Finals will host the lowest seed and the second-seeded semi-finalist will host the third-seeded team.

The winners of the Semi-Finals will progress to the Final, at the venue of the highest-seeded team.

Season Begins on February 26th - First Game At Eden Park Venue, AucklandScreen Shot 2016-02-23 at 14.32.28

Grab Your Game Tickets By Clicking the Image Below


Accommodation For the 2016 Super Rugby Season

If you are looking for a place to stay during the 2016 Super Rugby Season, You should Know that Eden Park Bed and Breakfast NZ is only a stone throw away from the 2016 Super Rugby Venue at Eden Park.  Make sure you contact us for room availability during this busy season.  Make sure you book prior to visiting Auckland, New Zealand.

Check for Availability Here . 

Auckland's top Restaurants offer Terrific food, served with great charm and efficiency in a smart but probably somewhat informal atmosphere.

Brief overview of upcoming events in Auckland City

A short walk from Eden Park makes us the perfect destination for all their sporting fixtures.